The National Accreditation Board (NAB) of St. Vincent and the Grenadines has been established by the Further and Higher Education (Accreditation) Act Nos. 35 of 2006. The NAB is empowered by the Act to register and accredit tertiary level institutions and their programmes. The NAB is equally empowered to deregister or cause the closure of any institution that operates outside the provisions of The Further and Higher Education (Accreditation) Act.

A number of institutions continue to offer their services outside of the legal expectations of the Accreditation Act of 2006. The National Accreditation Board has already taken measures to protect the interest of unsuspecting nationals / residents with respect to tertiary level education.  The National Accreditation Board continues to be vigilant with respect to its mandate and has reviewed the applications of several establishments.

The first and only Chief Executive Director of the NAB was Mr. Kelvin Malcolm in 2009.   Since the departure of Mr. Malcolm, the Accreditation Unit in the Ministry of Education has been working to support the operations of the NAB with the provision of both human and material resource.  The AU is currently headed by Mrs. Descima Hamilton, her predecessor was Mrs. Corinne Gonsalves. Both Mr. Malcolm and Mrs. Gonsalves were supported by Administrative Assistant Mrs. Taja Young-Cupid, who is serving in another Department.

Go to top